Saxmundham home page Town CouncilLocal ServicesSport & LeisureTourist InformationNews & EventsAbout SaxmundhamContact Us
Search this site:

Town Council

Find out about what the council can do for you using the above links.
Town Council

All enquiries concerning the work of the Town Council should be made through the Town Clerk in the first instance: click here for info about contacting the Town Clerk...

Town Council

The Saxmundham Town Council is committed to working for the residents of Saxmundham for the benefit of everybody who lives and works in the town.

The Council elects a chairman and vice-chairman from among its members at the annual general meeting of the Council in May each year.

The Town Council gets involved with decisions about such things as housing, roads, and amenities, as well as looking after footpaths and children's playgrounds. It also provides small grants to local charities and groups and represents the town on several other committees concerning local businesses and crime prevention.

The Town Council office is now situated in the Old Police Station, Station Approach, Saxmundham, Suffolk. IP17 1BW


Election for the position of County Councillor, Blything area- 4th May 2017

Richard Smith MVO was elected as our County Councillor.

At the May 2019 AGM followed by the Town Council meeting held last Monday 13th May 2019 Cllr Jeremy Smith was appointed Chairman and Cllr John Fisher Vice Chairman. Cllr Fisher is also our District Councillor.


Elections - 7th May 2015

On 7th May 2015, as well as a General Election, there were elections for both District and Town or Parish Councils. The four-year term of office of the current Saxmundham Town Councillors ended on that date. All the elections are handled by Suffolk Coastal District Council and full details can be found on their website:

Saxmundham Town Council

4 people stood for nomination but we require 7 more Councillors to join them.  Please contact the Town Clerk if you are interested.

East Suffolk

A ballot was held to select 1 councillor from the 3 nominations. Cllr John Fisher was appointed as the District Councillor.

Suffolk Coastal Constituency

A ballot was held to select a Member of Parliament from the 5 nominations. Click this link to see the result.


Freedom of Information Act 2000 and Model Publication Scheme

Freedom of Information Act - adopted by Saxmundham Town Council in 2009


Top of page | Home | Legal | Site map
© Saxmundham Town Council, 2015.